Status Update

· 521 words · 3 minutes

Currently

It's currently about 11:30 PM here and thunderstorms are rolling through the area, which means it's the perfect time to settle down, put my headphones in, and write a blog post.

Thunderstorm

Programming

While I haven't been able to blog or write a lot of code lately, I did submit a couple pull requests to get cleberg.net listed on the 512KB Club and 1MB Club websites, which are dedicated to performance-based websites that fit their size limits. Since cleberg.net currently measures around 30.0KB (22.6KB is the favicon.ico), I'm hoping the PRs will be approved soon.

There's also a list out there dedicated to websites that do not include JS, but I believe it required submitting a request via Sourcehut, so I'm not sure if it's worth the hassle.

After a little further looking, I also went ahead and submitted PRs to the 250KB Club and no-JS Club listings.

Estoy Aprendiendo Español

In other news, I have decided to take another crack at learning Spanish. I took a Spanish 101 course in college before I switched my major from Chemistry to Accounting, which didn't have a language requirement.

However, I enjoyed learning Spanish immensely and was quite good at the topics we covered that semester. Given that I have a few friends and family members who speak it, I want to give it another chance and see if I can master enough to write blog posts, notes, or order food fully in Spanish. To me, that would equal success.

Career

I am moving companies once again, this time transferring from one of the Big 4 firms (EY) to another one (KPMG). I will be doing largely the same work as a Senior IT Auditor, but I will be on a smaller team and will be focusing on a different geographical region than I have been for the last year with EY. This switch is a great opportunity and I'm looking forward to the different opportunities and challenges it may hold for me.

Personal Life

Personally, I've been dedicating time recently to my physical well-being. I've invested in some home exercise equipment, which helps with my tremendously lazy habit of avoiding driving to a local gym. Having an indoor bicycle and dumbbells sitting nearby makes everything so much easier and I can already tell that it's paying off.

Likewise, I've also started disc golfing. I have been disc golfing maybe ten times in my life prior to this year, mostly when family members drag me out to a course during a vacation, but I decided to take it up more seriously since it's hard to find an open/convenient basketball court (my preferred sport) to play on where I currently live.

So far, I've only been able to disc golf a handful of times in the last month or two. However, it's been fun and it's a nice way to spend an hour or two outdoors on the weekends.